Is there a way to get into college (graphic design) without a (math) high school degree?

R asked:

My situation is this, I “finished” high school several years ago, the only final test I didn’t pass was math, in my country you have the chance to make the test again outside the high school program as many times as you need until you pass it, so I’ve taken particular classes several times and made the test several times already but for some particular reason my brain simply does not cope with “complex” mathematical formulas in large amounts (as in for a math test..) and well, I simply hate math to make it short.

My stuff has always have to do with creativity in general, I’m good at logical reasoning even though I’m specifically not good at math, I mean, it’s not like I am mentally handicapped or anything, heheh, but “abstract thinking in complex logical numerical processing” is simply not my thing, apparently.

So, I took several design courses for the years I kept trying to pass the math test in order to get my high school degree and get into college, learned to use all the software designers use, researched on my own since the topic always interested me, practiced quite a lot, and developed quite well on my own, I have friends in college finishing graphic design right now that look at my works and they love them, people often say I’m almost gifted in this stuff, but the fact that I don’t have a college degree and I’m not even coursing graphic design is really frustrating deep within (I always handle to avoid the topic with new people I meet and almost no one knows I don’t have an official academical background).

I’ve worked as a freelancer and it’s gone well, I am also able to get a formal office job as a designer easily, I’m actually getting hired at a design company soon (I was working as a freelancer because the majority of design agencies in my country don’t pay really well, but this new company pays great and they loved my stuff), so this high school degree deal isn’t really limiting me (since no one knows and in this particular area I have the advantage of relying more on my portfolio and creative skills than on a formal college degree in order to get a job). But it’s honestly been a thorn in my chest I’ve always hidden and tried not to remember).

So, I do want to get a formal college degree. But this math deal is so ridiculously stopping me from even getting into college (where I know I would perform pretty well without all the high school math crap, and I’m talking about the complex part, not geometry) that well.. some times I think it’s just gonna stay like that.

Anyway…

Finally my question, is there any way to explain the situation to any particular college office and hopefully somehow bypass the high school math deal? I know it sounds impossible because you have to have a High School Degree and I didn’t pass math, but I mean, is there like, logical reasoning people out there somewhere that understand that what I want to be (and have already been) working on does not have to do with functions, domains, codomains, linear functions, trigonometric functions, quadratic functions, logarithms, etc. etc. ?

Or am I just doomed.. 🙂 ?

This entry was posted in Design School, Shift Category and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Is there a way to get into college (graphic design) without a (math) high school degree?

  1. Bill says:

    Sure. Plenty of colleges exist that will take you eg:

    Also most CC’s will take you as well.

    If your country is not the US tell me what it is and I will almost certainly be able to dig up some alternatives such as open university.

    Thanks
    Bill

Leave a comment